It counts as salad, right?

Anyone with Pinterest understand the wonderful, evil addiction of that site.  It offers so many brilliant ideas and, yet, it is all too easy to keep the ideas pinned to your board and never executed in your life.  In a marriage of my obsessions with organization and cooking, I broke my Pinterest boards down into recipe categories.  It’s like having a little online cookbook of only things I am interested in making.  However, there are far more good ideas on Pinterest than I have time to actually make.  I have been working my way through them slowly, but I’m always looking for an excuse to try something new.  Example: a potluck lunch in my office.

I try not to make too many “full-size” desserts at home.  Kevin and I just can’t eat them fast enough before they are no longer good.  There’s an endless debate between us about how long things like cookies should stay within our walls before I bring them to work for the guys there.  My philosophy is that the sooner I take stuff into work, the better it will be for  them and the less we will eat – which is a good thing, right?  Kevin disagrees.

I call this “philosophy”- “Kevin’s two hour window” in which I only get two hours to eat as much desert as possible or else it goes away forever. The only exception to this rule is in the rare instance Alise makes something that she feels is unsuited for her co-workers (like burning cookies) When this rare cooking eclipse happens than I get to enjoy desserts past the “two hour window.” My new plan is to covertly distract her when she makes desserts so that she may make a mistake, and the two hour window can be shattered!  Let the games begin!

We are completely off topic.  This post is supposed to be about what I made for that potluck.  Back to that.  After careful perusing of my Pinterest dessert board, I selected Snickers Salad.  Yes, you read that right.  Snickers…in a salad…well, sort of.  I found the recipe on Erica’s Bloggity Blog courtesy of some friendly pinner.   To my surprise, this recipe is not just one creative blogger’s idea; one of my co-workers talked about eating Snickers salad years ago while in college.  Wherever it came from originally, here’s how I made it:

Snickers Salad

  • 8-10 green apples
  • 2 bags of mini Snickers
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 8 oz. of Cool Whip
  • 1 small box of instant vanilla pudding

First off, I mixed the instant pudding and the milk.

Note, you only use one cup of milk vs. the two you make when you make regular pudding.  While you prep the remainder of the ingredients, set the pudding aside to chill.  From there, chop the apples and Snickers into bite-size pieces.

Once you’ve chopped everything, take the pudding out of the fridge and fold in the Cool Whip.  Then, toss in the apples and Snickers.  Mix well and you’re done.  Super simple.

When everything came together, I’ll admit that I was skeptical.  It kind of looked like a weird potato salad.  Tasting it, though, assuaged any fears I had.  It really tasted great.  When I make it again, I will definitely cut the recipe in half.  This made so much salad and, even though I took it to our potluck at work, we couldn’t work through the whole thing before it got mushy.  Also, I made this the night before the potluck and by the next day, an odd pudding/apple juice liquid had seeped to the bottom of my trifle bowl.  It wasn’t bad, just not as appetizing.  I would definitely serve this immediately after mixing.  That’s when it’s going to look and taste the best.  Still, it was pretty good taking a bite or two from the fridge over the next few days.

What do you think?

